2019 Picture Book Authors

Vanessa Brantley-Newton is an illustrator, doll maker, and crafter who studied fashion illustration at the Fashion Institute of Technology and children’s book illustration at the School of Visual Arts in New York. She is the author and illustrator of Let Freedom Sing and Don’t Let Auntie Mabel Bless the Table, and has illustrated numerous children’s books.

Kelly Starling Lyons is the author of several books for young readers. Her recent works include the picture book Going Down Home with Daddy and the chapter book Jada Jones: Sleepover Scientist, the latest installment in the Jada Jones series.

Frank Morrison is an artist and children’s illustrator. His work includes Let the Children March and Jazzy Miz Mozetta, which received a Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe Award. He illustrated I Got the Rhythm, written by his wife Connie Schofield-Morrison.

Connie Schofield-Morrison is a children’s author and entrepreneur. With her husband, Frank Morrison, she started the Morrison Graphics art gallery. She is the author of I Got the Rhythm.

Miranda and Baptiste Paul