Featured Young Adult and Chapter Book Authors

Click here for the full line-up

Bill Konigsberg has published five books: Out of the Pocket, his 2008 debut, won the Lambda Literary Award. Openly Straight won the Sid Fleischman Award for Humor. The Porcupine of Truth won the PEN Center USA Literary Award and the Stonewall Book Award. Honestly Ben, the sequel to Openly Straight, was released in 2017 and received three starred reviews. The Music of What Happens was released in January 2019.

Lamar Giles is a well published author and a founding member of We Need Diverse Books. He has two novels forthcoming in 2019: his debut middle grade fantasy The Last Last-Day-of-Summer  and his fourth YA thriller Spin. He is a two-time Edgar Award finalist in the YA category for his debut YA thriller Fake ID, and his second YA thriller, Endangered. His third YA thriller, Overturned was named a Kirkus Best Book of 2017.

Constance Lombardo is an author and illustrator based in Asheville, North Carolina.

She holds a BFA in Illustration from Syracuse University and has studied at the Art Students League of New York.

She is the author of the Mr. Puffball series.

Jeremy Whitley is a writer and winner of three Glyph Awards for representation in comics.

He has written for IDW Publishing, and co-created original series such as “Princeless,” “The Order of Dagonet,” and “Illegal.”

Leslie Youngblood is the author of the middle grade novel Love Like the Sky.

She earned her MFA from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro and has won the Lorian Hemingway Short Story Prize,

the A Room of Her Own Foundation’s Orlando Short Story Prize, and the Go On Girl! Book Club Aspiring Writer Award.

Gillian McDunn is the author of the middle grade novel Caterpillar Summer.

In the past she has lived in California and Missouri and currently lives near Raleigh, North Carolina.

Kelly Starling Lyons is the author of several books for young readers.

Her recent works include the picture book Going Down Home with Daddy and the chapter book Sleepover Scientist,

which is the most recent book in her Jada Jones series

Rebecca Petruck is the author of Boy Bites Bug and Steering Toward Normal.

She earned her MFA in Fiction from the University of North Carolina at Wilmington

and has been a finalist for the Housatonic Book Award. She currently lives in North Carolina.

Amy Reed is the author of several young adult novels, including The Boy and Girl Who Broke the World,

Beautiful, and The Nowhere Girls. She is also the editor of the young adult anthology Our Stories, Our Voices.

She currently lives in the mountains of Western North Carolina.

Alicia Williams is an author with a background in oral storytelling in the African-American tradition.

She earned her MFA from Hamline University, and teaches kindergarten in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Genesis Begins Again is her debut novel.

Brenda Rufener is a novelist and former technical writer.

She is the author of the young adult novels Since We Last Spoke and Where I Live.

She is also an advocate for homeless youth and enjoys hiking in the North Carolina woods.